2018 IRPS Reliability Year in Review

The 2018 IRPS Reliability Year in Review will take place on Monday, March 12th at 3:00 – 5:00 pm.

GaN & SiC ReliabilitySandeep Bahl, Texas Instruments
Alberto Castellazzi, University of Nottingham
MOL & BEOL DielectricsKristof Croes, imec
Circuit ReliabilityYu Cao, Arizona State University

GaN and SiC Device Reliability Year-in-Review

GaN – 2017 was an important year for GaN, with product and technology announcements, the establishment of the JEDEC JC70 WBG standards committee, of progress in reliability physics and continued innovation in device design. We will review highlights from papers that are helping develop our reliability physics foundation, papers on device innovation and of a new loss mechanism important for future application usage.

SiC – Enabling progress towards (widespread) commercialisation: SiC advances in material, devices, package and application. In recent years, SiC technology has transitioned from being essentially a research focus area to showing credible promise as a commercial reality. This presentation will review key advances and results presented in 2017, which play a key role in enabling this important transition. The review will cover the whole range of underpinning development areas, from material and process to device design, bespoke package development and applications.

Sandeep Bahl is a distinguished member of technical staff in the High Voltage Power Business Unit of Texas Instruments. He has extensive experience with semiconductor technology development, and has worked on both silicon and compound semiconductor technologies. His present focus is to bring reliable GaN products to market, and to develop the methodology to know that they will be reliable under actual-use conditions.  Sandeep helped kickoff the standardization effort of the GaN industry and is presently participating on the JC70 reliability committee as a task-group co-chair. He has served as chair of the Power and Compound Semiconductor subcommittee of the International Electron Devices meeting (IEDM) and of his local San Francisco/Santa Clara valley IEEE chapter. He is presently serving as chair of the IRPS Wide Bandgap Committee. Sandeep graduated with a PhD in Electrical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Alberto Castellazzi is an Associate Professor of Power Electronics at the University of Nottingham, UK. He has been active in power electronics R&D for over 15 years, collaborating with some of the main industrial and academic institutes worldwide. His research interests are power devices and the enabling technologies of power electronics. He has published over 180 papers in peer reviewed journals and conference proceedings and is a member of the Technical Program Committee of the IRPS, ISPSD, ESREF, ESTC and IPEC conferences.

MOL and BEOL Dielectrics Reliability Year-in-Review

Studies published in 2017 with respect to MOL and BEOL dielectrics will be reviewed. First, we will focus on studies addressing the understanding of different degradation mechanisms in MOL and BEOL dielectrics, both with respect to leakage current degradation as well as time to breakdown, where intrinsic dielectric breakdown needs to be decoupled from extrinsic like metal contamination, moisture, etc. Second, we will review work where proposals are made to deal with all kinds of variability issues like LER, L2L-variations and V2L-variations. As dielectric breakdown/metal drift is also a heavily studied phenomenon in FEOL and RRAM, a few learnings from these fields which are useful for MOL and BEOL will be cited as well.

Kristof Croes received his BSc in physics at the Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium) in 1993 and his MSc in biostatistics at the Limburgs Universitair Centrum (LUC) in 1994. In 1999, he obtained his PhD, concerning the development of statistical techniques for planning reliability experiments. After that, he joined the reliability business unit of XPEQT, first as the software responsible and then as the manager of the R&D. From 2003 till end 2006, he was product and application manager of the package level reliability products of the Singaporean based company Chiron holdings. Beginning 2007, he went back to research, working as a BEOL reliability engineer in imec. Currently, he is group leader of the Reliability, Electrical test and Modeling group working on test, characterization (electrical, thermal and (thermo)-mechanical) and reliability with main focus on advanced interconnects (2D, 3D, OIO). Kristof was an (invited/tutorial) speaker at several leading egde semi-conductor conferences (IRPS, IITC, IEDM, …). He also (co)-authored >100 papers in the field of reliability.

Circuit Reliability Year-in-Review

This session will focus on the past year of research in the following areas:

  1. Unreliable issues at advanced technology nodes: layout, manufacturability, etc.
  2. Monitoring and adaptive design techniques at the circuit level;
  3. System techniques for energy-efficient reliable design;
  4. On-chip machine learning in reliable design

Yu Cao received the B.S. degree in physics from Peking University in 1996. He received the M.A. degree in biophysics and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from University of California, Berkeley, in 1999 and 2002, respectively. He is now a Professor of Electrical Engineering at Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona. He has published numerous articles and two books on nanoscale CMOS design. His research interests include physical design of nanoelectronics, design solutions for reliability, and hardware integration for on-chip learning.  He is an IEEE Fellow.